[LMB] OT: Listmind questions about kosher food

Peter H. Granzeau pgranzeau at cox.net
Sat, 23 Feb 2002 17:35:39 -0500


At 10:13 02/23/2002 -0800, Damien R. Sullivan wrote:

>I don't know much about kosher, but my response is "cats aren't Jews".
>Gentiles aren't sinners for not following kosher, for example; they
>didn't make the covenant, they're not expected to follow all those
>rules.  So I guess it boils down to whether Jews are supposed to not use
>corn during Passover, or not eat it.  If the latter, no problem.

Evidently corn comes under the "if it isn't specifically permitted, it's 
prohibited" rule, as corn was unknown to Moses and to anyone in the Eastern 
Hemisphere for approximately 3,000 years.

I don't know.  Maybe observant Jews can't have pets?

-- 

Regards, Pete
pgranzeau at cox.net