[LMB] Fw: 2004 Mythopoeic Award finalists announced

Lois McMaster Bujold lbujold at myinfmail.com
Mon, 24 May 2004 13:24:38 -0500

2004 Mythopoeic Award finalists announcedForwarded too fast -- here's a more
informative version with *all* the nominees...

Ta, L.

----- Original Message -----

PRESS RELEASE: May 24, 2004

2004 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature
*Lois McMaster Bujold, Paladin of Souls (Eos)
*Kij Johnson, Fudoki (Tor)
*Ursula K. Le Guin, Changing Planes (Harcourt)
*Patricia A. McKillip, In the Forests of Serre (Ace)
*Robin McKinley, Sunshine (Berkley)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Children's Literature
*Kate DiCamillo, The Tale of Despereaux (Candlewick Press)
*Clare Dunkle, The Hollow Kingdom (Holt)
*Cornelia Funke, Inkheart, translated from German by Anthea Bell (The Chicken
*Shannon Hale, The Goose Girl (Bloomsbury USA)
*Terry Pratchett, The Wee Free Men (HarperCollins)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Inklings Studies
*Jane Chance, ed., Tolkien the Medievalist (Routledge, 2003)
*Matthew Dickerson, Following Gandalf: Epic Battles and Moral Victory in The
Lord of the Rings (Brazos Press, 2003)
*John Garth, Tolkien and the Great War: The Threshold of Middle-earth
(Houghton Mifflin, 2003)
*Don W. King, C.S. Lewis, Poet: The Legacy of His Poetic Impulse (Kent State
University Press, 2001)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies

*Mike Ashley, Algernon Blackwood: An Extraordinary Life (Carroll and Graf,
*Francis Bridger, A Charmed Life: The Spirituality of Potterworld (Darton
Longman & Todd, 2001)
*William Patrick Day, Vampire Legends in Contemporary American Culture: What
Becomes a Legend Most (University Press of Kentucky, 2002)
*John Lawrence & Robert Jewett, The Myth of the American Superhero (Eerdmans,
*Margaret Mackey, ed., Beatrix Potter's Peter Rabbit: A Children's Classic at
100  (Scarecrow, 2002)
*Jennifer Schacker, National Dreams: The Remaking of Fairy Tales in
Nineteenth-Century England (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2003)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy
novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published
during 2003 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings". Reissues (such
as paperback editions) are eligible if no earlier edition was a finalist.
Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the
series is eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy
Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young
Adults" to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The
Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the
same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a
borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on
Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to
Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last
three years (2001-2003) are eligible, including finalists for previous years.
The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to
scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to
more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of
eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year's awards will be announced at the banquet during
Mythcon XXXV, to be held in Ann Arbor, Michigan, from July 30th-August 2nd,
2004. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society
web site:


The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches,
and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more
information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards
Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486, San Francisco, CA
94132-0486, emfarrell at earthlink.net.