[LMB] OT: message marked as [SPAM?]

Ed Burkhead edburkhead at insightbb.com
Sat Mar 1 20:02:41 GMT 2008



Paula wrote:
> Something about your emails causes the spam checker on 
> the ISP I use to put [SPAM?] at the top of almost anything 
> you post to the list that comes to me!


I think this is the key:
> *  1.8 RCVD_IN_SORBS_SPAM RBL: SORBS: sender is a spam source
>  *      [65.55.175.211 listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net]


Sorbs is a service that, as listed by their web page, is "Fighting spam by
finding and listing Exploitable Servers."

Servers that have certain vulnerabilities can be easily co-opted by spammers
to spam the world.  Many e-mail servers are set to check the source of
e-mails against the databases provided by Sorbs and similar companies.

If the sender's server has these vulnerabilities, it may be blacklisted on
Sorbs and the other services.

The company at which I worked suddenly had all its e-mail blocked from going
to the biggest client (40% of our business) when the client implemented this
kind of screening.  It took hours to find out why.

Then, I had to get the senior systems programmer to fix the vulnerabilities
(install the newest version of certain software) Right Now, TODAY!  Then, we
had to notify the blacklisting company and get cleared (and they may have
done test poking at our system to prove the cure was in place).

It took a few days.

If you see messages from someone marked consistently as spam, it's good to
send the listing, just like you did, Paula, to the sender.  Then, the sender
can get with the e-mail service and get them working on the cure.  Having
your outgoing e-mail blacklisted because of sloppy server maintenance is,
IMHO, a breach of contract.

Ed


More information about the Lois-Bujold mailing list