Jean Lamb tlambs1138 at charter.net
Mon Dec 9 18:46:02 GMT 2019




The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America


December 9th, 2019

For Immediate Release

Lois McMaster Bujold Named SFWA Damon Knight Grand Master

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA, Inc.) is pleased
to announce that Lois McMaster Bujold has been named the 36th Damon Knight
Grand Master for her contributions to the literature of Science Fiction and


Lois McMaster Bujold was born in 1949, the daughter of an engineering
professor at Ohio State University, from whom she picked up her early
interest in science fiction. She now lives in Minneapolis, and has two grown
children. Her fantasy from HarperCollins includes the award-winning Chalion
series and the Sharing Knife tetralogy; her science fiction from Baen Books
features the perennially bestselling Vorkosigan Saga. Her work has been
translated into over twenty languages and has won seven Hugo Awards and
three Nebula Awards.




"Lois McMaster Bujold has had an undeniable influence on the field of
science- fiction and fantasy. From the the Vorkosigan Saga, to the Chalion
series and the Sharing Knife series, she finds new ways to explore the
genre, mixing and matching everything from regency to science fiction. With
dozens of books in multiple languages, while continuing to write, she is one
of the most prolific authors working today. Importantly, she also serves as
a role model for many writers, including me. In A Civil Campaign, she wrote,
"Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know
about yourself." There is no doubt about Lois McMaster Bujold's honor and
becoming SFWA's newest Grand Master only underlines her sterling

The Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award will be presented along with
the Nebula AwardsR during the annual SFWA Nebula Conference, which will run
from May 28th-31st and features seminars and panel discussions on the craft
and business of writing, SFWA's annual business meeting, and receptions.
During that weekend, a mass autograph session will also take place at the
Warner Center Marriott Woodland Hills and is open to the public.

The Nebula AwardsR, presented annually, recognize the best works of science
fiction and fantasy published in the United States as selected by members of
the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. The first Nebula AwardsR
were presented in 1966.

The Nebula AwardsR include four fiction awards, a game writing award, the
Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, the Andre Norton Award
for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book. SFWA also
administers the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award, the Kevin O'Donnell Jr. Service
to SFWA Award, and the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award.

For more information, please email pr at sfwa.org. <mailto:pr at sfwa.org> 




Jean Lamb

tlambs1138 at charter.net <mailto:tlambs1138 at charter.net> 



More information about the Lois-Bujold mailing list