[LMB] OT: Pratchett

Raymond Collins rcrcoll6 at gmail.com
Mon Sep 13 01:23:09 BST 2021

I think the Discworld novels had several different series's there was
Rincewind series. I think "Equal Rites" was the beginning of Esme
Weatherwax books and of course DEATH had his own series because he is so
endemic. Eventually every one meets DEATH.

On Sun, Sep 12, 2021, 12:08 PM Elizabeth Holden <alzurite at gmail.com> wrote:

> >Gwynne: I have to say, if I'm starting a series I like to read them in
> internal
> >chronology order. And I think some of the books would lose a little if you
> >took them out of order.
> Harry:
> > Except that in the case of Sir Terry he did not seem to hit his stride
> > until at least _Equal Rites_,
> Making that a good place to start.
> > and _The Colour of Magic_ and _The Light
> > Fantastic_ might have been written by a different, and FAR less
> > brilliant, author. Certainly, I found them to be less interesting and
> > enjoyable.
> Yes.  I read on because I trusted my friends who recommended his works. I
> think there's a steady improvement in his writing - and his thinking - for
> a number of years, and then a glorious plateau.
> So we who love the books fear that a newcomer will read The Colour of Magic
> and The Light Fantastic, and wonder what the fuss is about, and not
> continue.
> That being said, there were books later in the series (or the series of
> series) that I liked less than the others, and some I loved more. It's not
> uneven, but... varied.
> namaste,
> Elizabeth
> Elizabeth Holden <azurite at azurite.ca>
> --
> Lois-Bujold mailing list message sent to rcrcoll6 at gmail.com
> Lois-Bujold at lists.herald.co.uk
> http://lists.herald.co.uk/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/lois-bujold

More information about the Lois-Bujold mailing list